We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

nethuns: music for 14​-​piece ensemble

by Michaela Antalová

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $8.88 USD  or more




Nethuns is the name for the God of all waters in Etruscan mythology. Dedicated to the ocean, this forty minute conducted composition is founded on long and percussive shapes that gradually merge and overlap, creating polyphonic layers throughout its narrative.

OJKOS​ is a Norwegian orchestra whose repertoire is rebuilt every month with new scores from its members. Nethuns was created in 2018 as a commission during Michaela’s tenure with OJKOS. The orchestra gets its name from the old Greek word οἶκος, meaning family, creating a community of performing composers.

Nethuns was OJKOS’ first piece ever performed as a full-length concert, and its live recording is now proudly presented by Dugnad rec.

Michaela Antalová is a Slovak composer and drummer living in Oslo. Leading her own ensemble ​Mikoo​ and touring with her ​solo​ drum performances, Michaela drifts through genres playing a variety of percussion, hand drums and drum kit. She is occupied by exploring improvisation in many settings and using this experience in baroque, world, singer-songwriter and experimental music.

Collaborations with ​Lę Quan Ninh​, ​Chris Corsano​, ​Martin Küchen​, Knut Reiersrud, Kim Myhr, ​Atle Nymo​, ​Mats Eilertsen​, ​Sudeshna Bhattacharya​, ​Hans Kjorstad​ and Bjarte Eike​. Her first solo album ​Oblak, Oblek, Oblúk​ was released in 2016.



released March 13, 2020

OJKOS​ (Orchestra for Jazz Composers in Oslo) Members as of January 2019:

Henriette Eilertsen – flute
Tina Lægreid Olsen – baritone saxophone
Tancred Heyerdahl Husø – trumpet
Richard Köster – trumpet
Andreas Rotevatn – trombone
Johannes Fosse Solvang – trombone
Mike McCormick – guitar
Kristoffer​ Fossheim Håvik – piano
Alexander Hoholm – double bass
Michaela Antalová – drums and daf
Knut Kvifte Nesheim – drums and percussion
Magnus Murphy Joelson – conductor

Signe Emmeluth – alto saxophone
Julija Morgan - violin
Aseta Koloeva - harp

R​ecorded live by Louise Lavoll at Victoria Nasjonal Jazzscene in Oslo, Norway, January 29th 2019.
Mixed by Michaela Antalová and Marcus Forsgren at Studio Paradiso in Oslo.
Mastered by Federsel in Prague, Czech Republic.
Photography and artwork by Michaela Antalová.

Thanks to all members of OJKOS, ​Signe Emmeluth, Julija Morgan, Aseta Koloeva​, Louise Lavoll, Erlend Albertsen, Kjetil Jerve, Victoria Nasjonal Jazzscene, Østnorsk Jazzsenter, Kulturrådet and Oslo Kommune.


all rights reserved



Dugnad rec Oslo, Norway

contact / help

Contact Dugnad rec

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like nethuns: music for 14-piece ensemble, you may also like: